To Vegan or Not to Vegan

I’ve been following a mostly dairy-free diet on and off for a couple of years, so I figured it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to try going vegan. I’ve only been at it for about two weeks and I’ve had a few slip-ups (darn cheese!), but it seems to be going okay otherwise. The first few days I was exhausted but that seems better now. I am struggling to consume even 1400 calories a day, yet I don’t often feel hungry, likely because of the increase in fiber in my diet. I’m also not getting enough of certain vitamins (mostly B12, which is primarily found in animal products) but I take a multivitamin so I have that covered. I’ve already started experimenting with veganizing non-vegan recipes and have asked for advice from vegan friends, but I’d love to hear YOUR stories, ideas, and vegan blog recommendations.

Update: I take a few supplements for health issues, and recently looked at the bottles and noticed that some of them have gelatin (an animal product) in them. [sad face] I’m planning to do some research to see if I can find vegan versions… we’ll see how that works out.

Leave a Reply

