White Bean and Garlic Scape Dip

I went to the local farmer’s market yesterday before heading to the Minnesota Twins game with a friend from college. I wasn’t really looking for anything in particular, but found some great-looking kale and garlic scapes (the green part attached to the top of the bulbs). I’ve never used garlic scapes before, but I’ve heard a lot about them and was curious to find out how I might use them in recipes. They smell pretty garlic-y, as the dog waiting at the crosswalk near the market surely noticed as it sniffed my bag.

This recipe is pretty simple, though it took me a bit of time to make because I cooked my beans from dry. I had to play around with the ingredients to get the taste just right, but it turned out pretty good.

White Bean and Garlic Scape Dip

Dip 1

Ingredients

  • 2 cups navy beans, canned and drained OR cooked from dry
  • 1/3 cup garlic scapes
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in food processor or blender and blend together until smooth. Adjust ingredients as desired.

Source: Adapted from Mountain Momma Cooks

Leave a Reply

