Cinnamon Sugar Apple Chips

I’m going out of town this week (NYC and Duluth, MN) and thought I’d aim for posting two recipes this weekend as I don’t think I’ll have time to make and post one next weekend.

This is another autumn-y recipe that I’m making in the spring because 1) I like apple chips and 2) I’m always looking for healthy, portable snacks that I can take with me to work or when I’m out and about. I made my first batch a few weeks ago and they didn’t turn out well – they were still really chewy. This batch turned out much better – light and crispy. In fact, I’ve eaten almost half of them already and they only came out of the oven a few hours ago.

Cinnamon Sugar Apple ChipsApple Chip Close Up

Ingredients

  • 2-4 apples
  • cinnamon
  • granulated sugar

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 200° F.
  2. Line baking sheets (one sheet will hold approximately one average-sized  apple) with parchment paper.
  3. Rinse and core the apples. Thinly slice the apples with a mandolin or a sharp knife.
  4. Place the apple slices in a single layer on the baking sheets and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.
  5. Bake for 1 hour, the turn the apple slices ad bake for another 1.5 hours. You can sprinkle them with more cinnamon and sugar after turning if you wish.
  6. Turn the oven off and let the apple slices sit in the oven for 1 hour to crisp up.

I used two types of apples, Granny Smith and Golden Delicious, and found that I liked the tart flavor of the Granny Smith better. The Golden Delicious apples don’t have a ton of flavor to begin with, and they seem to have even less after they’ve been baked. You can make this healthier by omitting the cinnamon and sugar, but I think they add a nice complementary flavor, especially if you use tart apples.

Source: Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

