Grapefruit Honey Ginger Soda

I love long weekends and school breaks because I get some extra time to get things done. Unfortunately, I’m not always great at checking things off my to do list because I often get distracted by other things.  Having a cooking blog is a really good way to ensure that I cook at least once a week – it’s a way of holding myself accountable, especially when such distractions arise.

Monday is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, which means that I get a few extra hours of free time in the morning – I’m going to brunch and to a service site with my VISTA co-hort later in the day. Tuesday is our mid-year VISTA retreat, and then we’re back to our school sites on Wednesday. I wanted to take advantage of the tiny bit of extra time I have because of the holiday and post two recipes, the first of which is below.

Grapefruit Honey Ginger Soda

Soda 1

Ingredients

  • Zest of one large pink or red grapefruit (Note: I found zesting the grapefruit to be more work than I wanted to do, so I just threw half of a juiced grapefruit, peel side down, into the pan and made sure to squeeze all the liquid out before discarding it)
  • 1 cup freshly-squeezed pink or red grapefruit juice
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup honey, depending on how sweet you like your soda
  • 1/4 cup fresh ginger, finely chopped or grated
  • Club soda, for serving

Instructions

  1. Combine grapefruit zest (or half), grapefruit juice, honey, and ginger in a small saucepan over medium heat. Boil for two minutes, stirring until the honey is dissolved.
  2. Remove from the heat and allow to cool. Strain through a sieve into a container and discard the solids.
  3. When you’re ready to make your soda, pour two tablespoons of syrup into an 8-ounce glass, top with club soda, and stir to mix it all together. Add more syrup if desired.

This is one of those recipes that you have to make and taste, and then make changes if you want more or less of a certain flavor. If I make this again I will probably grate the ginger because I couldn’t taste it hardly at all in the syrup.

Source: Adapted from theKitchn

Leave a Reply

