Vegan Whole Wheat English Muffins

Greetings and Happy New Year! I’ve been sick with some sort of upper respiratory thing since Christmas Eve, so I haven’t been cooking as much as usual. It’s not super fun to cook (for myself or others) when I have random, unpredictable coughing fits from time to time. I’m hoping whatever it is that I have is finally on the way out.

I started a (mostly) dairy-free diet over a year ago, which has forced me to pay far closer attention to food labels than I did before. While limited amounts of dairy in baked goods is usually fine, I try to avoid it if I can. Many store-bought baked goods have some sort of dairy product in them (often whey), so I’m always grateful when I can find a product or a recipe that does not contain dairy.

Vegan Whole Wheat English Muffins

English muffins

Yield: 16-20 muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 cup warm almond milk or other non-dairy milk (regular, unsweetened is best)
  • 3 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 packet of instant yeast
  • 3 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup dairy-free butter substitute (I used Earth Balance), melted
  • Cornmeal for dusting

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the warm water, almond milk, sugar, and yeast. Let stand until frothy. Meanwhile, whisk the flours and salt together in another large bowl.
  2. Whisk the melted butter substitute into the yeast mixture. Add the flour and salt mixture one or two cups at a time and mix well. I started with the whisk and eventually just used my hands as the dough became sticky and tougher to work with. Knead the dough for 30 seconds to 1 minute, then place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with a towel. Let sit 1 to 1 1/2 hours until it has about doubled in bulk.
  3. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper and sprinkle with cornmeal.
  4. Once dough has risen, punch it down and turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll out until it’s about 1 inch thick. If you have a biscuit cutter you can use that to cut out the muffins, otherwise use something round (with sharp enough edges to cut the dough), about 3 1/2 inches in diameter. I used a plastic kitchen funnel.
  5. Place muffins on the parchment paper-lined baking sheet. I turned the muffins over a few times to make sure both sides had cornmeal on them. Cover with a towel and let sit 30 to 40 minutes to rise some more.
  6. Preheat oven to 325°F, and heat a lightly oiled griddle to 300°F. Place the muffins on the griddle and cook each side until browned, about 5 minutes. Transfer the muffins to a baking sheet and finish in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes. Let cool briefly on the pan, then transfer to wire cooling racks.

While these are a little less light and fluffy than store-bought english muffins, they taste pretty good. This recipe makes a lot of muffins; you can toss them in the freezer if you’re not going to eat them right away.

Source: Adapted from About.com, with a few tidbits from SavorySimple

Leave a Reply

