Stewed Prunes

When I was younger I thought that prunes were just for old people who had trouble going to the bathroom. They looked and smelled kinda funny, and weren’t really my thing. These days I’m a BIG fan of dried fruit, including prunes, though I have had a kind of love/hate relationship with them over the past few years. I remember really liking them in the Fruktsoppa (fruit soup) I had while a student at St. Olaf College (where I also had a funny/terrible experience with bouncing lutefisk), and this recipe reminds me of that wonderfully warm, spiced dish.

Stewed Prunes

stewed prunes

Ingredients

  • 1 orange, or 2 small tangerines, or 1 small orange and ½ a lemon
  • 1 pound pitted prunes
  • 1 cinnamon stick

Instructions

  1. Cut whatever citrus fruit you’re using in half vertically, and then thinly slice it (including the peel!). Place the citrus slices in a medium saucepan with the prunes and the cinnamon stick, and add enough water to cover everything.
  2. Bring the mixture to a simmer, and cook over medium-low heat for 30-45 minutes until the prunes are tender (my prunes had started to fall apart a bit at this point).  If you’re planning to eat/serve these right away, remove the cinnamon stick and do so. Otherwise you can store them in the fridge for up to a week.

I like my prunes a bit firmer than these turned out, so I will likely cook them for less time next time around. These prunes – fresh from the pan or heated up – are a great way to counter the cold weather we’ve been experiencing lately in the Midwest.

Source:  Orangette

One thought on “Stewed Prunes

  1. Pingback: Mustikkakeitto (Finnish Blueberry Soup) | A pinch, a dash, and a dollop

Leave a Reply

