Slow-Roasted Tomatoes and a Tasty Salad

I’m not a huge fan of tomatoes. I like them on things and in things, but not really on their own. I will occasionally buy a small container of cherry or grape tomatoes, but they usually end up getting wrinkly and/or rotten before I finish them.

When I found this recipe for slow-roasted tomatoes, I was intrigued, and thought that maybe, just maybe, slow-roasting them would make them so yummy that I wouldn’t be able to resist eating them. And it kinda worked. I’m not in love with these tomatoes (I think the flavor of the skin is kind of weird), but I do like them. And they’re AMAZING with a bit of toasted baguette.

Slow-Roasted Tomatoes

IMGP2944

Tomato

Ingredients

  • Roma tomatoes
  • Olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Ground coriander ( or grind your own)

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°F.
  2. Wash tomatoes, cut off stem end, and slice in half lengthwise.
  3. Place skin side down on a baking sheet and use a spoon or brush to spread olive oil on tomatoes.
  4. Sprinkle with sea salt and coriander.
  5. Bake for 4 to 6 hours.
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Tomatoes can be stored in air tight container in the refrigerator.

I had some leftover avocado in the fridge and my dad was grilling some sweet corn, so I decided to throw together a fresh, tasty salad using the tomatoes.

Slow-Roasted Tomato, Corn, and Avocado Salad

Salad 2

Ingredients

  • 4 to 5 slow roasted tomato halves, chopped
  • 1ear of sweet corn, cooked (steamed, grilled, etc)
  • Half an avocado, chopped
  • A few drops of lime juice
  • One small basil leaf, chopped
  • Sea salt, to taste

Instructions

  1. Using a sharp knife, shear corn kernels from cob into a bowl.
  2. Add tomatoes, avocado, lime juice, basil leaf and salt, and stir to combine.

Source: Slow-roasted tomato recipe slightly adapted from Orangette; salad is my own culinary genius.

3 thoughts on “Slow-Roasted Tomatoes and a Tasty Salad

  1. Pingback: Black Bean and Corn Burgers | A pinch, a dash, and a dollop

  2. Pingback: Rice Salad with Vegetables and Raisins | A pinch, a dash, and a dollop

  3. Pingback: Homemade Baguette | A pinch, a dash, and a dollop

Leave a Reply

