Chocolate-Zucchini Muffins

As I’ve written before, I often find myself using leftover ingredients – things that I’ve used in other recipes that sit around for a while in my fridge – when I cook. This works especially well with things like fresh herbs and certain types of produce, that tend to have shorter shelf lives.

The other day I cut up some zucchini to take as part of my lunch and realized that I don’t really like zucchini, especially when raw.  I was looking through some recipes last night and found one that would use most of the leftover zucchini. It also called for cocoa powder, which meant that I would get to eat a chocolatey baked good, which doesn’t happen often when one is on a mostly dairy-free diet (unless I bake said chocolatey baked goods myself).

Chocolate-Zucchini Muffins

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins 2

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup whole grain pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 to 1 c raw sugar (depending on sweetness level you prefer)
  • 1/4 cup lactose-free milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and grease/spray muffin pan or paper liners, depending on what you plan to use. I use paper liners because they look nice and keep the muffin together.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
  3. In a large bowl, mix mashed banana with oil and sugar, then add in the milk, vanilla and zucchini.
  4. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients little by little, stirring until just combined.
  5. Spoon batter into muffin cups until about 3/4 full.
  6. Bake for 18 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  7. Let cool in the pan for a few minutes before transferring muffins to a wire cooling rack.

You can sub out the milk for a non-dairy version to make this recipe vegan.

Source: Adapted from The Happy Herbivore by Lindsay S. Nixon

Leave a Reply

