Vinaigrettes

I usually post on a weekly basis, but was out for most of last week at Pre-Service Orientation (PSO) for my VISTA position (that starts tomorrow!!). PSO was pretty exhausting, so I was looking to make something quick and simple, that I could whip up with little or no time spent cooking.

Since going dairy free I’ve found that I can no longer eat some of my favorite salad dressings, which is probably a good thing because they’re not all that healthy. I’ve tried a few good vinaigrettes here and there, but nothing really beats the taste of homemade.

Herbed Vinaigrette

Herb Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup fresh packed fresh herbs
  • 1/4 cup plus one tsp olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp chopped onion
  • 2 cloves gralic
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard

Directions:

  1. Put everything into a food processor or blender and blend well.

I used basil, thyme, parsley, and a few leaves of rosemary in this recipe, and it turned out wonderful. I love this viniagrette on spinach or romaine, and am betting it would make a great dip for bread as well.

Source: Adapted from Kitchen Explorers at PBS.org

Red Wine-Mustard Vinaigrette

IMGP2883

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 5 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together all of the ingredients except for the olive oil.
  2. Add olive oil slowly, adding about one tablespoon at a time, while whisking mixture continuously.

Source: Orangette

Leave a Reply

