Mashed Potatoes with Avocado and Cilantro Pesto

I often find myself with leftover ingredients after using only a tiny bit in a recipe, particularly when cooking dishes with fresh herbs that only come in bunches (I’m looking at you, cilantro).  After using some  cilantro in my chana masala,  I was looking to make something tasty that would use up the rest of the bunch, and settled on a nice pesto.

Cilantro Pesto

Cilantro pesto

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cilantro leaves, packed
  • a few basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup blanched almonds
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water, if needed

Instructions

  1. Put everything but the olive oil in a food processor or blender.
  2. Pulse a few times; alternate adding olive oil and blending until the pesto reaches desired consistency. Add water if it seems like things aren’t mixing well.

Source: Inspired by SimplyRecipes, but mostly just thrown together in the moment.

Later in the day when I decided to make dinner, I realized that I had half  of a quickly browning avocado in my fridge. Cilantro and avocado are wonderful together (hello guac!) but I was more interested in something that would go with leftover grilled chicken. I poked around in the kitchen and found a fairly large red potato, and decided to make some sort of potato/avocado/pesto dish.

Mashed Potatoes with Avocado and Cilantro Pesto

Pesto potatoes

Makes 1 to 2 servings, depending on your appetite, but can easily be adjusted to make more.

Ingredients:

  • One large red potato
  • Half an avocado
  •  2 tsp cilantro pesto
  • Earth Balance
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Cook the potato by either boiling it in a pot of water or wrapping in a wet paper towel and microwaving until tender enough to mash.
  2. Place potato in a bowl and mash slightly. Add Earth Balance, avocado, and pesto.  Mash everything together until desired consistency is achieved –  I like some lumps in my potatoes.
  3. Season with salt and pepper.

I will admit that these green potatoes look a little weird, but they’re super tasty.

Source: My own culinary genius.

2 thoughts on “Mashed Potatoes with Avocado and Cilantro Pesto

  1. Pingback: Banana Cookies | A pinch, a dash, and a dollop

  2. Pingback: Chocolate-Zucchini Muffins | A pinch, a dash, and a dollop

Leave a Reply

