Dyeing Easter Eggs

Hello, and Happy Easter! I haven’t been actively practicing a religion for a number of years now, so today’s post focuses on a fun activity that’s part of the secular candy/Easter bunny side of the holiday. My family and I used to dye eggs when my siblings and I were younger, but haven’t done so recently. I thought I’d pick up the tradition this year, and create some fabulous dyed eggs.
First, hard boil however many eggs you’d like to dye. The Pioneer Press had a few recipes for deviled eggs in their most recent Eat section (my favorite section and the highlight of my Thursdays), and they provided an excellent method for harboiling eggs.

  1. In a saucepan, cover the eggs by at least an inch with cold tap water and let them sit for 5 minutes.
  2. Place pan over medium-high heat and bring to a boil.
  3. Immediately after the water starts to boil, remove the pan from the heat and cover. Let eggs sit for 12 minutes.
  4. Drain the eggs and run them under cold water to stop the cooking.

I ate one of the eggs I made using this method this morning, and it was perfectly cooked on the inside.

I usually use food coloring to dye my eggs, adding a few drops to cups of water, but you can buy an egg dyeing kit if you’d like, and just follow the directions on the package. Make sure to line any work surfaces with newspaper so you don’t get dye all over everything. This article offers some great tips on how to dye eggs, like using rubber bands or dot stickers to create cool designs. I’m a big fan of experimentation, so have some fun with this. I dyed some eggs earlier today; the pictures below are my three favorites:


Easter Eggs 1

Easter Eggs 2

Blog photos 006

I really like having hard-boiled eggs in my fridge – they make for a great mid-morning or on-the-go snack.

Leave a Reply

